An on-going game is being played out @ Theplayersaid.com

The Players' Aid

Today we were able to play our first game of Fields of Despair France 1914-1918 by GMT Games. This block Wargame covers the conflict known as The Great War or World War I and concentrates on the battle on the Western Front. The Eastern Front and the War at Sea are abstracted but are very well done and enjoyable.

In our game, I was playing as the mighty Central Powers and with my opening move took the fight to the Allies who were dug in behind a fortified line of fortresses. I set my sights on Conflans and Verdun.

This battle would be indecisive in its opening round mainly due to the fact that the fortresses require the attacker to roll a 6 on a six-sided die in order to score a hit. The battles in Fields of Despair are very attritional and will usually take several well planned out…

View original post 88 more words

